The idea of a Swabian priest son

The story of the Advent calendar

Image Product

Origin
The Advent calendar, which can no longer be thought of in the Advent era, was only created in the early 20th century. The original origins, however, can be traced back to the 19th century. The first forms of the Advent calendar come from the Protestant environment. For example, in religious families in December 24-images were gradually hung on the wall. Simple, but no less effective, was another variant: 24 chalk lines painted on the wall or door, from which the children were allowed to wipe one away every day (so-called. Strike-calender). Or straws were placed in a crib for every day until Christmas Eve.

Other shapes are the Christmas watch, or an Advent candle that was allowed to be burned every day until the next marking. The earliest form of a self-built Advent Calendar comes from the 1851. Those who wanted to order an Advent Calendar had to wait a little longer: In the 1902 year, the Evangelical Book Shop in Hamburg published the probably first printed Advent Calendar: A Christmas watch for children, which in the handling is absolutely comparable to that which appeared 1922 at St. John's Printery (Dominik Wunderlin, lic.phil Switzerland). In the 1904 year a Christmas calendar was added as a present to the "Neue Tagblatt Stuttgart". However, the National Museum identifies the year 1903 as the year of the creation of the printed Advent calendar.

The Swabian priest Gerhard Lang

In contrast, Esther Gajek describes Gerhard Lang (1881-1974) as the inventor of the Advent calendar. The first printed copy owes its existence to the childhood experiences of the Swabian priest son from Maulbronn. His mother drew a 24-box on a cardboard board board board with a "Wibele" sewn on it. As a member of the lithographic institute Reichhold & Lang gave up the pastries and instead used colorful drawings that could be cut out and glued to a cardboard box.

1908, this first, albeit windowless, Advent calendar left the printing press. At the time, people were still talking about "Christmas Calendar", or "Munich Christmas Calendar". Since about 1920's, the first calendars with Turks appeared to open up to the market as we know them today. Even today these nostalgia adventure calendars are particularly popular.

Marvin McKinney.

Founder CEO

Christian motifs
In the early 1920s, the Sankt Johannis printing company in Baden also produced religious calendars with open windows showing Bible verses instead of pictures. (Left: Bible number advent calendar from Richard Sellmer Verlag) Sellmer Verlag has a large number of Christian Advent calendars in its range.

In the world war
At the end of the 1930s, Gerhard Lang had to give up his business, by which time he had published around 30 different motifs. World War II put an abrupt end to the soaring Christmas calendar. The reason for this was the scarcity of paper and the ban on producing picture calendars. Only in the post-war period was the advent calendar able to build on its success again.

from 1945 Sellmer Verlag
In 1945 Richard Sellmer founded a publishing house and brought out the first Advent calendar after the Second World War. It was the advent calendar "Die kleine Stadt", which you can still buy today. Since then, customers of Sellmer Verlag have been able to buy the advent calendars. Advent calendars for adults are just as popular as childish motifs for "small" customers.

Go further

first Gerhard Lang advent calendar

Printed cardboard fields could be cut out and glued on.

Windowless, no doors to open

Go further

Promotional advent calendar
Nowadays the advent calendar - filled with chocolate or without filling - is also very popular as a promotional item. Modern designs predominate in this segment. These advent calendars are usually produced in large numbers and usually communicate a corresponding advertising message from the company, often combined with a competition or a voucher campaign.

virtual advent calendar
Another modern form of the advent calendar is the "virtual advent calendar". This can only be used interactively on the Internet. On the respective December day, the user activates the corresponding number and receives online z. E.g. videos, short pieces of music, raffles or vouchers.

lively advent calendar
In the meantime, the so-called "living advent calendar" has also become popular. With this form of the Advent calendar, people meet in front of a different window that was decorated for Advent every day of Advent. At the respective station, songs are sung, Christmas stories are told and culinary delights are offered. This form is particularly popular with church communities.

Motives from the 1970s

Order an original print from the 60s

Advent calendar "Dream Night"

€22,90
Advent calendar "Dream Night". Designed by Frans Haacken (Peter and the Wolf). An original print from 1962Probably the only more black and white Advent calendar available on the market. The Advent calendar has abstract red and green reverse images. Contour-punched, free-standing, width 48.5, height 29.5 cm - You are buying a rarity!..
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Advent calendar "At the Townwall"
€6,25
The first Sellmer Advent calendar of 1946 is available as a reprint. Order a piece of time history. Format approx. 21 x 69 cm.
Price including VAT, incl. Shipping.

Die Idee eines schwäbischen Pfarrersohnes

Die Geschichte des Adventskalenders

Image Product

Ursprünge
Der heute in der Adventszeit nicht mehr wegzudenkende Adventskalender entstand erst am Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts. Die eigentlichen Ursprünge lassen sich jedoch bis in das 19. Jahrhundert zurückverfolgen. Die ersten Formen des Adventskalenders kommen aus dem protestantischen Umfeld. So wurde in religiösen Familien im Dezember 24 Bilder nach und nach an die Wand gehängt. Einfach, aber nicht weniger effektvoll, war eine andere Variante: 24 an die Wand oder Türe gemalte Kreidestriche, von denen die Kinder täglich einen wegwischen durften (sog. Strichkalender). Oder es wurden Strohhalme in eine Krippe gelegt, für jeden Tag bis Heilig Abend.

Weitere Formen sind die Weihnachtsuhr, oder aber eine Adventskerze die jeden Tag bis zur nächsten Markierung abgebrannt werden durfte. Die wohl früheste Form eines selbstgebastelten Adventskalenders stammt aus dem Jahre 1851. Wer einen Adventskalender bestellen wollte, musste sich etwas länger gedulden: Im Jahr 1902 veröffentlichte die Evangelische Buchhandlung in Hamburg den wohl ersten gedruckten Adventskalender : Eine Weihnachtsuhr für Kinder, die in der Handhabung absolut vergleichbar ist mit jener, die 1922 bei der St. Johannis Druckerei erschienen ist (Dominik Wunderlin, lic.phil Schweiz). Im Jahr 1904 wurde dem "Neuen Tagblatt Stuttgart" ein Weihnachtskalender als Präsent beigelegt. Das NÖ Landesmuseum gibt jedoch das Jahr 1903 als das Entstehungsjahr des gedruckten Adventskalenders an.

Der schwäbische Pfarrersohn Gerhard Lang

Im Gegensatz dazu, bezeichnet Esther Gajek Gerhard Lang (1881-1974) als Erfinder des Adventskalenders. Das erste gedruckte Exemplar verdankt seine Existenz den Kindheitserlebnissen des schwäbischen Pfarrersohnes aus Maulbronn. Seine Mutter zeichnete 24 Kästchen auf einen Karton - auf jedes war ein "Wibele" genäht. Als Teilhaber der lithographischen Anstalt Reichhold & Lang verzichtete Gerhard Lang auf die Gebäckstücke und verwendete stattdessen farbenprächtige Zeichnungen, die ausgeschnitten und auf einen Pappkarton geklebt werden konnten.

1908 verließ dieser erste, wenn auch noch fensterlose Adventskalender die Druckpresse. Damals sprach man noch von "Weihnachtskalender", oder "Münchener Weihnachts- Kalender". Seit ca. 1920 erschienen die ersten Kalender mit Türchen zum Öffnen auf den Markt, so wie wir sie heute kennen. Auch heute noch sind diese Nostalgie Adventskalender besonders beliebt.

Marvin McKinney

Founder & CEO

christliche Motive
Ebenso fertigte die badische Sankt Johannis Druckerei Anfang der 20er Jahre religiöse Kalender, deren geöffnete Fenster Bibel Verse anstatt Bilder zeigten. (Links: Bibelzahlenadventskalender aus dem Richard Sellmer Verlag) Der Sellmer Verlag hat eine grosse Anzahl an christlichen Adventskalendern im Programm.

Im Weltkrieg
Ende der 30er Jahre mußte Gerhard Lang seinen Betrieb aufgeben, bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt hatte er etwa 30 verschiedene Motive herausgegeben. Der 2. Weltkrieg setzte dem Höhenflug des Weihnachtskalenders ein jähes Ende. Grund hierfür war die Knappheit des Papiers und das Verbot, Bildkalender herzustellen. Erst in der Nachkriegszeit konnte der Adventskalender wieder an seinen Erfolg anknüpfen.

ab 1945 Sellmer Verlag
1945 gründete Richard Sellmer einen Verlag und brachte den ersten Adventskalender nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg heraus. Es war der Adventskalender "Die kleine Stadt", den es auch heute noch zu kaufen gibt. Seitdem können Kunden des Sellmer Verlags die Adventskalender kaufen. Adventskalender für Erwachsene sind ebenso beliebt, wie kindliche Motive für die "kleine" Kundschaft.

Go Further

erster Gerhard Lang Adventskalender

bedruckte Pappfelder konnten ausgeschnitten und aufgeklebt werden.

Fensterlos, keine Türchen zum Öffnen

Go Further

Werbe-Adventskalender
Heutzutage ist der Adventskalender - mit Schokolade gefüllt, oder ohne Füllung - auch als Werbeartikel sehr verbreitet. In diesem Segment dominieren hauptsächlich moderne Designs. Diese Adventskalender werden meist in hohen Auflagen produziert und kommunizieren in der Regel eine entsprechende Werbebotschaft des Unternehmens, oft auch kombiniert mit einem Gewinnspiel, oder einer Gutscheinaktion.

virtuelle Adventskalender
Als weitere, moderne Form des Adventskalenders ist der "virtuelle Adventskalender" zu erwähnen. Dieser kann ausschließlich im Internet interaktiv genutzt werden. Am jeweiligen Dezembertag aktiviert der Nutzer die entsprechende Zahl und erhält online z. Bsp. Videos, kurze Musikstücke, Verlosungsaktionen oder Gutscheine.

lebendige Adventskalender
Mittlerweile ist auch der so genannte "lebendige Adventskalender" populär. Bei dieser Form des Adventskalenders treffen sich an jedem Tag im Advent Personen vor einem anderen Fenster welches adventlich dekoriert wurde. An der jeweiligen Station werden dann Lieder gesungen, weihnachtliche Geschichten erzählt und kulinarisches angeboten. Diese Form ist besonders bei kirchlichen Gemeinden beliebt.

Motive aus den 1970er Jahren

Bestellen Sie eine Originaldruck aus den 60er Jahren

Adventskalender "Traumnacht"

€22,90
Adventskalender "Traumnacht". Gestaltet von Frans Haacken (Peter und der Wolf). Ein Originaldruck von 1962 Der wohl einzige eher schwarz/weiß gestaltete Adventskalender, den es auf dem Markt gab. Der Adventskalender hat abstrakte, rot und grün gehaltene Rückbilder. Konturgestanzt, freistehend, Breite 48,5, Höhe 29,5 cm - Sie kaufen einen Rarität!.
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender "An der Stadtmauer"
€6,25
Ein sehr beliebter Adventskalender zum Aufstellen. Konturgestanzt mit eingesteckter Kulisse. Erstmals Anfang der 1970er Jahre erschienen. Größe ca. 26,5 x 35,5 cm. Mit Glitzer.
Preis inklusive Mehrwertsteuer, zuzgl. Versand.