/ History of Richard Sellmer Verlag
banner

Since 1945
Richard Sellmer Publishers
Advent Calendars from Stuttgart to the world

It is such a beautiful product, the enthusiasm for it has been passed on over the generations, ”explains Annette Sellmer, why all family members have remained loyal to the Christmas calendar during the company's 75-year existence.
The nostalgic cityscapes, cozy Christmas scenes, romantic snowy landscapes with Santa Claus and the religious motifs of the Advent calendars, which are particularly popular in England, have one thing in common: They are designed and manufactured with care and great attention to detail.
According to our company philosophy, what is shown behind the door must match the content of the motif on the front of the calendar," says Annette Sellmer.

Even the first Sellmer calendar with the motif "The small town" - which was reissued as a reprint - shows this careful attention to detail and the sophisticated, handcrafted design. Richard Sellmer had made it by hand in the living room of his house on Schmellbachstrasse, opposite today's Sellmer company building.
He was the first German provider where customers could order Advent calendars.

Facts that matter

Success over the years
0

Commercial

0

Motives since the foundation

0

Export

0

Years of business

Management

Dianne Russell

Frank Sellmer.

Publishers

Eleanor Pena

Oliver Sellmer.

Managing partner

Theresa Webb

Annette Sellmer.

Marketing and press work

How it all started

The American occupation authorities granted permission to print in 1945. Although a good part of the Advent season of the first post-war year was already over, Sellmer's calendar was a huge success, so that he gradually expanded the program in the following years.

Richard Sellmer quickly established contacts with American customers through international trade fairs. The advent calendar, which until then had been completely unknown in the USA, also found enthusiastic buyers there. American customers could now also buy Sellmer's Advent calendar. Sellmers Verlag was soon referred to as "The Home of Advent Calendar". So that the impression does not arise that only the Americans have used the Christmas calendar from Stuttgart to do good: Richard Sellmer himself financed the restoration of the bombed church windows of the Stuttgart collegiate church with the proceeds of the motif "Old Stuttgart". The opulent photo albums that document the company's history contain black and white photos from early production as well as some letters from children from all over the world, addressed to the “Secretary General of Father Christmas” or to “Santa Claus”.

President

The fact that U.S. presidents Eisenhower and Nixon were photographed with their families as part of a charity action with a calendar from Stuttgart-Rohr further increased the popularity of Sellmer products. The fact that a Miss Christmas-Town, the Queen of Advent calendar, was crowned annually as part of that charity in the United States, was visited by the publisher was also seen as a nice recognition. One of the best kept memories is a Christmas card from Bill Clinton: The President personally thanked him for the copy of an Advent calendar special from the 1950s with the "White House" as the motive Sellmer had sent him.

The production

Many were made by hand

The New Age

At Sellmer, around 40 percent of sales now come from the international market.
When it comes to demand, the British are amazing. That is why a sales office was set up near Birmingham in 2001.

But even in countries without a noteworthy Christian tradition, such as Japan, demand is growing steadily. A very important area is now the production of custom-made products. Most of them are promotional gifts that companies send to their customers and employees. The fashion chain H&M, for example, commissioned a special chocolate advent calendar from Richard Sellmer Verlag in a magazine look, printed with a cover girl dressed up for Christmas.

Online sales are increasing among private customers. While buyers and users think of Christmas calendars at the earliest a few weeks before the start of Advent, the production of the paper jewelry at the manufacturer takes the whole year.

From the end of January three major trade fairs will be visited - the Nuremberg Toy Fair, Paperworld in Frankfurt am Main and the spring fair in Birmingham. The first overseas shipments are already on the ship in March, followed by delivery to wholesalers in Europe and finally to retailers and private customers. The calendars for the following year are designed from September and are printed right after Christmas. Pfeil Here you can see how we produce advent calendars.

Production today

In the early days of the publishing house, almost everything was laboriously manufactured by hand. Today, production and packaging run automatically, except for a very few work steps; there is even a machine for applying mica. After Richard Sellmer's death in 1969, his son Tim was responsible for rationalizing production. His measures made the large numbers that are required today possible in the first place. Tim Sellmer died in 2008, his sons Frank and Oliver Sellmer continue to run the publishing house in his sense.

The Sellmer publishing program currently includes around 130 motifs, around 15 newly designed ones are added every year. Some motifs have been in the range without interruption since the 1950s; Reprints are particularly popular - more like advent calendars for adults. Whether in the common A4 format, whether as a postcard, whether three-dimensional with backdrops to set up - as different as the preferences of the customers may be: Silver glitter and nostalgic romance are simply a must for Advent calendars - certainly not just for Americans.

Interestingly, the Advent calendar is a relatively young phenomenon, the first specimen was produced in the 1904 year. It was not even popular until the 1950s. At that time, it became a low-cost mass-produced article, and the Stuttgart publisher Richard Sellmer Verlag, the only publisher in Germany that focuses exclusively on the production of Advent calendars, has a significant share of it.

Millions of copies of the decorative Christmas agendas are delivered annually by the family business to distribution partners in over 25 countries. Richard Sellmer founded the publishing house in the 1945's, and today his grandchildren Frank and Oliver Sellmer run the business. In the meantime, however, the fourth generation is also actively helping. The publisher employs nine employees. About five freelance graphic artists are responsible for the artistic design, the printing orders are awarded outside the house.

Our recommendation: Advent Calendar Domplatz von 1947

Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Advent Calendar
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar "Cathedral Place"

€9,25
Track:
Price includes VAT, plus shipping
  • Reproduction by 1947
  • Counterpart to set up
  • With plugged-in backdrop
  • Images complete the front page
  • Expensive Turkish cement
  • Turks also in the background
  • Decorated with glitter
  • Size: 43 x 20,5 cm

/ Firmengeschichte
banner

Seit 1945
Richard Sellmer Verlag
Adventskalender von Stuttgart in die Welt

Es ist ein so schönes Produkt, die Begeisterung dafür hat sich über die Generationen vererbt“, erklärt Annette Sellmer, warum während des nun 75 Jahre dauernden Bestehens der Firma sämtliche Familienmitglieder dem Weihnachtskalender die Treue gehalten haben.
Die nostalgischen Stadtansichten, trauten Weihnachtsszenen, romantischen Schneelandschaften mit Weihnachtsmann und die vor allem in England beliebten religiösen Motive der Adventskalender haben eines gemein: Sie sind mit Sorgfalt und grosser Liebe zum Detail gestaltet und hergestellt.
„Nach unserer Firmenphilosophie muss das, was hinter den Türchen abgebildet ist, inhaltlich zum Motiv der Kalendervorderseite passen“, sagt Annette Sellmer.

Schon der erste Sellmer-Kalender mit dem Motiv „Die kleine Stadt“ – der als Reprint wieder aufgelegt wurde – zeigt diese sorgsame Liebe zum Detail und die ausgefeilte, kunsthandwerkliche Gestaltung. Richard Sellmer hatte ihn im Wohnzimmer seines Hauses in der Schmellbachstraße, gegenüber dem heutigen Sellmer-Firmengebäude, in Handarbeit alleine gefertigt.
Er war der erste deutsche Anbieter, bei dem Kunden Adventskalender bestellen konnten.

Fakten die zählen

Erfolge über die Jahre hinweg
0

Fachhandelskunden

0

Motive seit Gründung

0

Export-Länder

0

Jahre Geschäftstätigkeit

Geschäftsleitung

Dianne Russell

Frank Sellmer

Verleger

Eleanor Pena

Oliver Sellmer

Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter

Theresa Webb

Annette Sellmer

Marketing und Pressearbeit

Wie alles begann

Die amerikanischen Besatzungsbehörden erteilten 1945 die Druckgenehmigung. Obwohl ein guter Teil der Adventszeit des ersten Nachkriegsjahres schon vorbei war, wurde Sellmers Kalender ein Riesenerfolg, so dass er das Programm in den folgenden Jahren sukzessive erweiterte.

Über internationale Fachmessen gelang es Richard Sellmer schnell, Kontakte zu amerikanischen Kunden zu knüpfen. Der Adventskalender, der in den USA bis dahin noch gänzlich unbekannt gewesen war, fand auch dort begeisterte Abnehmer. Ab sofort konnten auch amerikanische Kunden Sellmers Adventskalender kaufen. Sellmers Verlag wurde sogar bald als „The Home of Advent Calendar“ bezeichnet. Damit nicht der Eindruck entsteht, nur die Amerikaner hätten Weihnachtskalender aus Stuttgart genutzt, um Gutes zu tun: Richard Sellmer selbst finanzierte mit dem Erlös des Motivs „Alt Stuttgart“ die Wiederherstellung der zerbombten Kirchenfenster der Stuttgarter Stiftskirche. Die opulenten Fotoalben, die die Firmengeschichte dokumentieren, enthalten neben Schwarz-weiß-Fotos aus der frühen Produktion auch einige Briefe von Kindern aus aller Welt, adressiert an den „Secretary General of Father Christmas“ oder gleich an „Santa Claus“.

US-Präsidenten

Dass sich die US-Präsidenten Eisenhower und Nixon mit ihren Familien im Rahmen einer Charity-Aktion mit einem Kalender aus Stuttgart-Rohr fotografieren ließen, schob die Popularität der Sellmer-Produkte zusätzlich an. Auch dass eine „Miss Christmas-Town“ – die Adventskalender-Königin wurde im Rahmen jener Benefizaktion in den USA jährlich gekrönt – den Verlag besuchte, wurde als schöne Anerkennung verstanden. Zu den am besten gehüteten Erinnerungsstücken zählt eine Weihnachtskarte von Bill Clinton: Der Präsident bedankte sich persönlich für das Exemplar einer Adventskalender-Sonderanfertigung aus den 50er Jahren mit dem „Weißen Haus“ als Motiv, das Sellmer ihm geschickt hatte.

Die Produktion

Vieles wurde in Handarbeit gefertigt

Die Neuzeit

Bei Sellmer entfallen mittlerweile rund 40 Prozent des Umsatzes auf den internationalen Markt.
Was die Nachfrage angeht, sind die Briten einsame Spitze. Deshalb wurde im Jahr 2001 bei Birmingham ein Verkaufsbüro eingerichtet. 

Aber auch in Ländern ohne nennenswerte christliche Tradition wie zum Beispiel Japan wächst die Nachfrage stetig. Ein ganz wichtiger Bereich ist inzwischen die Produktion von Sonderanfertigungen. Meist handelt es sich um Werbegeschenke, die Firmen ihren Kunden und Mitarbeitern schicken. Die Modekette H&M beispielsweise gab einen aparten Schoko-Adventskalender vom Richard Sellmer Verlag im Magazin-Look in Auftrag, bedruckt mit einem weihnachtlich ausstaffierten Cover-Girl.

Bei Privatkunden legt der Onlineverkauf immer mehr zu. Während Käufer und Nutzer frühestens wenige Wochen vor Beginn der Adventszeit an Weihnachtskalender denken, nimmt die Produktion der papiernen Schmuckstücke beim Hersteller das ganze Jahr in Anspruch.

Ab Ende Januar werden drei grosse Fachmessen besucht – die Nürnberger Spielwarenmesse, die Paperworld in Frankfurt am Main und die Frühjahrsmesse in Birmingham. Schon im März gehen die ersten Sendungen nach Übersee aufs Schiff, dann folgt die Auslieferung an den Grosshandel in Europa und schliessßlich an den Einzelhandel und die Privatkunden. Die Kalender für das jeweils folgende Jahr werden ab September entworfen, gleich nach Weihnachten werden sie gedruckt. Pfeil Hier sehen Sie, wie wir Adventskalender produzieren.

Die Produktion heute

Wurde in den Anfängen des Verlags noch fast alles aufwändig von Hand gefertigt, laufen heute Produktion und Verpackung bis auf ganz wenige Arbeitsschritte automatisch; selbst für das Auftragen von Glimmer gibt es eine Maschine. Für die Rationalisierung der Produktion war nach dem Tod Richard Sellmers im Jahr 1969 dessen Sohn Tim verantwortlich. Seine Maßnahmen machten die großen Stückzahlen, die heute benötigt werden, erst möglich. Tim Sellmer starb 2008, seine Söhne Frank und Oliver Sellmer führen den Verlag in seinem Sinne weiter.

Das Sellmer-Verlagsprogramm umfasst derzeit um die 130 Motive, ca. 15 neu gestaltete kommen jährlich dazu. Einige Motive sind seit den 1950er Jahren ununterbrochen im Sortiment; besonders beliebt sind Reprints - eher Adventskalender für Erwachsene. Ob im gängigen DIN A4-Format, ob als Postkarte, ob dreidimensional mit Kulissen zum Aufstellen – so unterschiedlich die Vorlieben der Kunden auch sein mögen: Silberner Glitzerstaub und nostalgische Romantik sind für Adventskalender einfach ein Muss – gewiss nicht nur für Amerikaner.

Interessanterweise handelt es sich beim Adventskalender um ein relativ junges Phänomen – das erste Exemplar wurde im Jahr 1904 hergestellt. Flächendeckend populär wurde er sogar erst in den 1950er Jahren. Damals wurde er zum preisgünstigen Massenartikel – und der Stuttgarter Richard Sellmer Verlag, der sich als einziger Verlag in Deutschland ausschließlich auf die Produktion von Adventskalendern konzentriert, hat erheblichen Anteil daran.

Millionen Exemplare der schmucken Vorweihnachts-Agenden liefert das Familienunternehmen alljährlich an Vertriebspartner in über 25 Länder. Richard Sellmer hatte den Verlag im Jahr 1945 gegründet, heute führen die Enkel Frank und Oliver Sellmer die Geschäfte. Mittlerweile hilft jedoch auch die vierte Generation tatkräftig mit. Der Verlag beschäftigt neun Mitarbeiter. Für die künstlerische Gestaltung sind etwa 5 freie Grafiker zuständig, die Druckaufträge werden außer Haus vergeben.

Unsere Empfehlung: Adventskalender Domplatz von 1947

Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender
Adventskalender

Adventskalender "Domplatz"

€9,25
Stück:
Preis inkl. MwSt., zuzgl. Versand
  • Nachdruck von 1947
  • Konturgestanzt zum Aufstellen
  • Mit eingesteckter Kulisse
  • Rückbilder ergänzen die Vorderseite
  • Aufwendige Türchenstanzung
  • Türchen auch in der Kulisse
  • Dezent mit Glimmer verziert
  • Größe: 43 x 20,5 cm